Automatic Static

Featuring D Bruce Aitken & Michael Brown

Let the music live inside of you

NEW RELEASE April 1st 2022 : Available on BANDCAMP,Spotify, Apple Music, TikTok, Pandora, Amazon, Instagram, YouTube, Tidal, iHeartRadio, Deezer, plus a ton of other stores & streaming services.

The Back Story.

During these times musicians have had to adapt to the changes in the world they live in.

Mid 2020 D Bruce Aitken built a home studio and started recording experimental drum and percussion tracks daily. The freedom to be able to record whenever and whatever he had in his head and heart, eventuated in an outpouring of a lifetime (worth) of ideas.

Aitken had met saxophonist Michael Brown in 2017 when studying for a Music Diploma at TAFE NSW in Ultimo Sydney Australia , where Michael Brown is a tutor in Music Theory.

Initially Aitken sent Brown two tracks hoping he may be interested in playing saxophone on one or both of them, and this eventually led to the pair collaborating and recording eight tunes in total.

Aitken then invited Sydney musician Levi J Burr to contribute guitar and bass on all tracks, and Legendary Australian guitarist , multi Instrumentalist Marcus Sturrock (formerly of Perth, now residing in Tasmania), to add guitar , bass and piano on one track.
Topped off with advice and support of Sam Troy from Studio 301 in Sydney, this Album is now completed and ready for release.

With the result of these recordings, (which Aitken also engineered, mixed and mastered) the collaboration with Michael Brown sees the beginning of a new partnership, a new band called AUTOMATIC STATIC which will go well beyond this debut Album entitled A Time Before Time.
Live performances will follow the release .

In these troubled times.... the music will see us through.

Digital Release April 1, 2022

A Time Before Time

Album Information & Track Listing

1 Animal Instinct 2 The Formal Attire 3 Automatic Static 4 QUASHI-Mow-Toe 5 Walking Backwards To The Bar (Version 1) 6 Em Bee Blews 7 And Just Like That 8 Walking Backwards To The Bar (Version 2) Michael Brown : Saxophone All Tracks Levi J Burr : Bass & Guitar All Tracks Marcus Sturrock : Guitar, Piano & Bass Track 8 D Bruce Aitken : Drums & Percussion All Tracks ALL COMPOSITIONS c.2022 APRA AMCOS Owlhoot Records Sydney Australia

Michael Brown


Michael Brown is a saxophonist, improviser, composer and songwriter. Crossing many genres has been a feature of his development playing and composing jazz, latin, african and reggae music a consequence the multicultural environment of Sydney music scene.

Read More  

D Bruce Aitken

Drums, Percussion

Multi Award Winning Drummer/Percussionist

Read More  

Levi J Burr

Guitar, Bass

LJ Burr is a country blues / folk singer and guitarist from Sydney’s Inner West. Influenced by the artists of the 1920s and 30s along with the Takoma Records school, he brings something new to an old style of music.

Read More  

Marcus Sturrock

Guitar, Bass, Piano, Keyboards

Marcus Sturrock is a world touring multi-instrumentalist who’s primary instrument is guitar. As a solo acoustic guitarist and singer he has headlined at many music festivals worldwide and played electric and acoustic guitar in bands with many famous musicians.

Read More  

Digital Album Release Party

Digital Album Release . The Digital release of A Time Before Time by Automatic Static is on April 1st 2022 , venue to be announced closer to the date.

  • Date: 1/04/2022 08:00 AM
  • Location To Be Announced

Sorry, registration has ended.
  • Sydney, New South Wales, Australia